Hope for the Present

What is hope? Hope is defined as a “cherished desire with anticipation.” For the Christian that hope could be re-defined as a cherished desire with expectation. That change in words means a lot.

Our hope is something that we know is going to happen, not something we just want to happen. God has assured us long ago that He knows the plans He has for us. Plans for welfare and not calamity, plans to give us a future and a HOPE![i]  

To further illustrate our hope Jesus said “I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.”[ii] The ‘they’ in that passage is referring to believers in Christ.  Jesus came to give you abundant life and God has promised you HOPE! These promises are not only cherished, but a reality for those that have placed their faith and trust in Jesus! 

Some have confused this abundant life with material blessings and no difficulties. That is not what Jesus is talking about. He is referring to a life that has meaning! A life that has eternal purpose!  A life that is filled with the Fruit of the Spirit![iii] 

This abundant life is something that we can experience even if the world around us seems to be in chaos. During the most difficult of times you can still have a love like you have never known; a peace beyond comprehension and joy that is overflowing. For the believer in Christ this is a result of abiding in Him. Look below at John 15:1-11[iv] and notice how the words Abide, Love and Joy are used in the context of followers of Christ. 

Are you a believer in Christ? Be sure that you are. There are a lot of people who assume that because of their upbringing, church membership or baptism that they are a believer in Christ. Be sure and read here to make sure you are in the faith.[v] 

The good news is that if you are not a believer in Christ that the free gift of eternal life is offered to you. What is needed is to respond to the work of Christ on the cross in faith. Jesus will not turn away anyone who responds to Him in faith.[vi]

Click here for more details about this hope that can be yours today!


[i] (Jeremiah 29:11 ESV)  For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

[ii] (John 10:10 ESV)  The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.

[iii] (Galatians 5:22-23 ESV) But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.

[iv] (John 15:1-11 ESV) “I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser. Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit. Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you. Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. If anyone does not abide in me he is thrown away like a branch and withers; and the branches are gathered, thrown into the fire, and burned. If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples. As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love. These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.

[v] (2 Corinthians 13:5 ESV)  Examine yourselves, to see whether you are in the faith. Test yourselves. Or do you not realize this about yourselves, that Jesus Christ is in you?–unless indeed you fail to meet the test!

[vi] (John 6:37 ESV)  All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never cast out.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

